THE NEW PANDEMIC NORMAL

A Mix of Absurdities

We all got ‘em

Jill Ebstein
3 min readMar 18, 2023

--

Unsplash: credit David Calavera

I couldn’t help notice that a middle-aged man, driving only himself, car windows rolled up, was fully masked. I was walking on the sidewalk, unmasked and in a “thinking” kind of mood.

When the light turned red and seeing as his car was in the right lane and me on the sidewalk, I realized we were almost within talking distance. My untameable curiosity got the best of me, so I motioned with pantomime to see if he could roll down his window.

The nice, fully-masked man did as such and said, “Yes? Do you need something?”

Me: Thank you for noticing, and yes, I do. By virtue of your willingness to speak with me, I can tell that you are a very kind man. I am wondering if you can pull over for a second.

Man: Sure. If we’ve learned anything this year, it’s about going the extra distance.

Me: Thank you. Well, for starters, can you tell me why you are wearing a mask as you drive only yourself in your car? Until just this minute, your windows were fully closed.

Man: That is a great question, but first, a question for you. Why do you need to know?

Me: I am trying to draw a line in my life between sanity and absurdity, and I am having a hard time.

--

--

Jill Ebstein

I’m about dogs, our lovable and peculiar families, business, and writing in a wide lane, including fiction. I’m a positivity washer too. www.jillebstein.com